November 13, 2006

  • Internet Island Topic Post #20: “(Welcome) Back to the Island”

    internetisland3

    Internet Island Topic Post #20.00: “(Welcome) Back to the Island Post”

    Welcome to Internet Island Topic Post #20 at the NEW Internet Island location. Please note the new member sites which are listed at the bottom of this entry. 11 people have joined the Island blogring since the last topic post was entered on September 19. The Island is now populated by 131 blogs.

    (Welcome) Back to the Island


    The Internet Island has been relocated, and is celebrating it’s first birthday. I’ve chosen SIX different topics, from the mundane (What’s the oldest thing in your closet?) to the overtly political (What do you think about the “war in Iraq?”)  As you list your entries in the comments to this post, I will “list” them here, so they are easy to find. Who’s going to be “first” to write the “comeback Internet Island topic entry?” Will it be YOU?

    The Topic Post will last approximately two weeks. Please enter the link or date of your Internet Island Topic Entry for this post in a comment here. If you are creating a link, make sure you link to the page with the “comments” box and not the page with five entries. (HERE IS A TUTORIAL ABOUT HOW TO MAKE LINKS.) The purpose of Internet Island Topic Posts is to help get the members of the Internet Island Blogring to exchange comments and get to know each other. Please check back periodically for new entries throughout the two week period.  If you post a topic entry, please make an attempt to visit the other Islanders who do so as well. It is also a good idea to post the link to the Topic Entry in your own entry so that other interested parties can come here. You can copy/paste the Topic Post links right here in this entry into your own weblog entry box.


    20.01: Politics:
    After the Democrats took control of Congress, the pundits on the news programs and political bloggers are telling us that the American people want a change in government because of the increasing unpopularity of “the war in Iraq.” Here’s your chance to become a pundit. First: What do you think about the “War in Iraq?” Second: Are there “good wars” and “bad wars”?

    20.02: Medicine and Health:
    Pick one “cure” for any disease that you think would have an overwhelming effect on the good will and health of the world.

    20.03: Animal Planet:
    A recent news article proclaimed that intelligence tests given to Manatees prove that the beasts are getting “smarter”. I seem to be seeing a lot of news lately about animal intelligence. Are the animals getting smarter because they want to tell us something? What do they want to say?

    20.04: Fashion:
    I’ve recently been noticing that a lot of my clothes are getting threadbare. As I age, I don’t seem to “follow fashion” at all, and I’m always surprised that something I might think I “just bought” is in reality over a decade old. What is the oldest piece of clothing in your closet? Does it still fit you? Why do you keep this around? What is the latest piece of clothing in your closet? Is it in style?

    20.05: Thanksgiving:
    This is a chestnut topic that pops up frequently this time of year, and will most probably be a subject about which you might blog anyway. For what do you give thanks this Holiday season? Another year passes, you’re another year older, a year’s worth of events and emotions are added to your personal calendar. Write your Thanksgiving Prayer. We should be giving thanks each and every day, but a lot of us tend to complain. On Thanksgiving, let’s put aside our complaints. Join me in Giving Thanks.

    20.06: The Perfect Society:
    When I was in college, I took a class in comparative literature which highligted the “distopian novel.” New Internet Islander Marie (Building a Mystery) recently wrote a satirical entry about the subject of Utopia. Can society be perfected, or does human nature preclude perfection? How would we begin? Is there anything resembling a perfect society existant today?

    Topic Entries:

     adrianluzky 11/14: 20.01 (first entry)

    Building A Mystery 20.02 11/14

    Thereluctantsinger 20.04 11/14

    Betrayed1959 20.06 11/14

    writergoddess (nessi1) 20.01 11/15

    What does God look like 20.02 11/15

    mourning2dancing 20.05 11/18

    Zeal4living 20.00-06 11/19

    baldmike2004 20.05 11/20

    screaminginmyhead 20.05 11/20

    prettynosyarentyou 20.05 11/20

    emmysback 20.05 11/21

    soccershades7 20.05 11/21

    ladtwolf aq 20.02 11/22

    ElectricBlue Eyes 20.05 11/27

    BoureeMusique 20.04 11/28

    Mimiwi 20.04 12/13

    xhandwrittenlettersx 20.01-06 12/26


    11 New Members Since last Topic Post on Sept. 19, 2006

    Visit GunStarHero1988's Xanga Site! GunStarHero1988
    BLIND I TO SMELL YOU. STAND A LITTLE CLOSER. A LITTLE MORE. YEAHHH, I SMELL YOU.
    Site last updated 11/13/2006 at 7:07 AM – joined group 11/12/2006

    Visit GracieBC's Xanga Site! GracieBC
    ‘and all of the things that I said that I wanted~ come rushing in by my head when I’m with you~14 joys and a will to be merry~and all of the things that we say are very~sentimental gentle wind~blowing through my life again~sentimental lady, gentle one….’ In addition to that…I am a wife, mother, poet, painter, student, cook, daughter, friend. Not as good as I want to be, not as bad as I used to be, always trying to be what I’m meant to be.
    Site last updated 11/11/2006 at 11:08 PM – joined group 11/10/2006

    Visit renaissancelady's Xanga Site! renaissancelady

    Site last updated 11/8/2006 at 10:36 PM – joined group 11/9/2006

    Visit InternetIsland's Xanga Site! InternetIsland

    Site last updated 11/11/2006 at 9:54 AM – joined group 11/9/2006

    Visit Citril's Xanga Site! Citril
    I’m 37, a first-time, SAHM to our wee miracle Charis, wife of the ever patient Andrew, and surrogate Mum to Xander (Charis’s kitten) and 3 degus. I enjoy reading, writing, photography, cooking, theatre, music, films, ballet, scuba diving, travel, walking, camping, and spending time with family and friends. The most important things in my life are : God My family My friends We live in the beautiful Highlands of Scotland, but I was born and raised in Oban – my heart belongs there!
    Site last updated 11/12/2006 at 7:49 PM – joined group 11/7/2006

    Visit essenceofsage's Xanga Site! essenceofsage
    I am published writer of poetry and prose and cling to inherent ramblings of an extraordinary life!
    Site last updated 11/12/2006 at 6:59 PM – joined group 11/3/2006

    Visit Building_A_Mystery's Xanga Site! Building_A_Mystery
    Drop by and discuss faith, freedom, justice, and contemporary issues. Please note that hostile attacks against Christianity will not be tolerated.
    Site last updated 11/13/2006 at 9:45 AM – joined group 11/1/2006

    Visit adriansluzky's Xanga Site! adriansluzky
    father, lover, postman, comments, welcome
    Site last updated 11/9/2006 at 4:50 AM – joined group 11/1/2006

    Visit WhataWonderfulNewWorld's Xanga Site! WhataWonderfulNewWorld

    Site last updated 11/10/2006 at 6:04 AM – joined group 11/1/2006

    Visit emmysback's Xanga Site! emmysback
    Well lets see what can I say about me! I hate talking about me. Lets talk about my kids. I am a mother of 4 gorgeous children, who are very busy and vibrant. We are always on the run either with sports, or dance. Baseball and dance are our busy times of the year. But as a mom you might hear me gripe about it, but if you know me you also know I love every minute of it. I enjoy spending time outdoors with my kids, and hanging out with my friends. My hubby and my kids are my world, and we are doing the best we can to bring up the kids in a christian manner.
    Site last updated 11/11/2006 at 10:47 PM – joined group 9/19/2006

    Visit ammaw2653's Xanga Site!

    ammaw2653
    I am married to my second husband now for 31 years and have 3 children and 5 grandchildren. I am mostly conservative but have been known to go a little off base. I believe in God although I don’t attend a church. I love music of all kinds except for rap and really hard rock. I do like some Metallica though and I especially enjoy anything by Josh Groeban. I also like bluegrass considering my hubby is a musician and that is what he plays. http://www.fusioncash.net/?ref=texdeb
    Site last updated 11/10/2006 at 10:15 PM – joined group 9/19/2006

    YOU ONLY HAVE TO WRITE ONE TOPIC. OR MORE IF YOU WANT.  IT’S ALL UP TO YOU!

    Remember, the tabs at the top of theInternet Island Blogring Page will “sort” the members by latest post, date joined,  and alphabetical Username. Use the ring page to find new Islanders, or older ones you might not have visited in a while. It’s OUR Island, and we’re a great group of people with different interests, fantastic stories, and wonderful lives, and we have a great deal of love for our fellow man.

    There are no “right” or “wrong” responses to any Topic Post for Internet Island. All responses are just as valid as any other response.

    CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE INTERNET ISLAND, A PARTICIPATORY BLOGRING.

Comments (26)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *